Priv–Doz. Dr. med. Gernot Bonkat

Urology specialist

Priv.-Doz. Dr. med. Gernot Bonkat studied medicine at Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (LMU Munich) and at Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg (JMU). After earning his medical degree, Gernot Bonkat practised in Switzerland (Olten) and Germany (Sangerhausen, Würzburg). In 2007, he transferred to the University Hospital Basel, where he completed his specialist training in urology. He spent a clinical research year in South Africa at Stellenbosch University’s renowned Tygerberg Hospital in 2012. The following year, he completed his postdoctoral qualification (Habilitation) and received authorisation to teach urology at the University of Basel. Until alta uro’s founding in 2016, he worked at the University Hospital Basel, most recently as a head physician.

Gernot Bonkat is a Fellow of the European Board of Urology (FEBU) and has regularly been nominated to serve as an examiner for the annual European Board Examinations in recent years. He is an active member of a number of urological societies and was named the Chair of the European Association of Urology (EAU) Working Group on Urological Infections in 2015. He is also a member of the EAU Section of Infections in Urology (ESIU), the German Society of Urology (DGU) and the Swiss Society of Urology (SGU).

Since 2009, Gernot Bonkat has served as a senior scientist at the Center of Biomechanics & Calorimetry (COB) and the Department of Biomedical Engineering (DBE) at the University of Basel. He has authored more than 150 scientific articles, conference papers and book chapters.

Languages: German, English

Privatdozent Dr. med. Gernot Bonkat

Facharzt für Urologie

Privatdozent Dr. med. Gernot Bonkat studierte Humanmedizin an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München und Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg. Nach Abschluss des Medizinstudiums war Gernot Bonkat zunächst in der Schweiz (Olten) und in Deutschland (Sangerhausen, Würzburg) tätig. 2007 wechselte er an das Universitätsspital Basel und schloss dort seine Facharztausbildung für Urologie ab. 2012 folgte ein einjähriger klinisch-wissenschaftlicher Aufenthalts am renommierten Tygerberg-Hospital der Universität Stellenbosch, Südafrika. 2013 habilitierte sich Gernot Bonkat und erhielt die Lehrbefugnis für das Fach Urologie an der Universität Basel. Bis zur Gründung von alta uro im Jahr 2016 war Gernot Bonkat am Universitätsspital Basel, zuletzt als Leitender Arzt tätig.

Gernot Bonkat besitzt den Europäischen Facharzttitel für Urologie, Fellow of the European Board of Urology (FEBU), und wird seit mehreren Jahren regelmässig als Prüfer zu der alljährlichen Europäischen Facharztprüfung nominiert. Gernot Bonkat ist aktives Mitglied in zahlreichen urologischen Fachgesellschaften. 2015 wurde er zum Vorsitzenden des Leitliniengremiums für urologische Infektionen der Europäischen Gesellschaft für Urologie (EAU) ernannt. Gernot Bonkat ist weiterhin Mitglied der EAU-Sektion für urologische Infektionen (ESIU), der Deutschen (DGU) und der Schweizerischen Gesellschaft für Urologie (SGU).

Gernot Bonkat ist seit 2009 Seniorwissenschaftler am Zentrum für Biomechanik und Kalorimetrie Basel (COB) und Biomedical Engineering (DBE) der Universität Basel. Er ist Autor von mehr als 150 wissenschaftlichen Fachartikeln, Kongressbeiträgen und Buchkapiteln.

Sprachen: Deutsch, Englisch